What is Islam?

Islam is the religion that Muslims follow worldwide. It addresses all of humanity. Islam means to surrender and submit to Allah (God) and in doing so one reaches inner peace and serentity. A Muslim is a person who physically, emotionall and spiritually surrenders themself to our Almighty Creator. A Muslim serves Allah alone and strives to attain His pleasure.

Faith in the Islamic context asserts the belief in all that Allah has revealed to humanity through Muhammad (peace be upon him). Faith (Imam) is to believe with your heart and express your faith verbally.

The Pillars of Islam.

  1. The Shahada: The declaration of faith to testify that there is no god but Allah and that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger.
  2. The Salat: Performing the five (5) compulsory daily prayers.
  3. The Zakat: Paying the annual poor rate (charity).
  4. The Sawm: Fasting during Ramadan from dawn to sunset.
  5. Hajj: The pilgramage to Mekka in Saudi Arabia.


The Articles of Faith.

The Prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h.) articulated the Islamic faith in this sentence:
I believe in Allah (God), in His angels, in His books, in His Prophets, in the Day of Judgement, that good and evil fate comes from Allah, in resurrection after death. I bear witness that there is no deity but Allah and Muhammad is His servant and His messenger.

  1. Belief in Allah.
  2. Belief in Allah’s angels.
  3. Belief in the books of Allah.
  4. Belief in Allah’s prophets.
  5. Belief in Life after Death.
  6. Belief in Fate; that good and evil are created by Allah.


The Four Holy Books.

  1. Zabur/Psalms: revealed to the Prophet Dawud (David) (p.b.u.h.).
  2. Tawrat/Torah: revealed to the Prophet Musa (Moses) (p.b.u.h.).
  3. Injil/Bible: revealed to the Prophet Isa (Jesus) (p.b.u.h.).
  4. Qur’an/Koran: revealed to the Prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h.).


The names of the Prophets mentioned in the Qur’an.

1. Prohet Adam (Adam) 14. Prophet Musa (Moses)
2. Prophet Idris (Enoch) 15. Prophet Harun (Aaron)
3. Prophet Nuh (Noah) 16. Prophet Dhul Kifl (Ezekiel)
4. Prophet Hud (Hood) 17. Prophet Dawud (David)
5. Prohet Salih 18. Prophet Sulaiman (Solomon)
6. Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham) 19. Prophet Ilyas (Elias)
7. Prophet Ismail (Ishmael) 20. Prophet Al Yasa (Elisha)
8. Prophet Ishaq (Isaac) 21. ProphetYunus (Jonah)
9. Prophet Lut (Lot) 22. Prophet Zakariyya (Zachariah)
10. Prophet Ya’qub (Jacob) 23. Prophet Yahya (John)
11. Prophet Yusuf (Joseph) 24. Prophet Isa (Jesus)
12. Prophet Shu’aib 25. Prophet Muhammad (p.b.u.h.)
13. Prophet Ayyub (Jobe)


Times of Prayer.

There are five times for prayer (salat) in a given day. These are:

  1. Fajr (Morning): Between the break of dawn and sunrise.
  2. Dhuhr (Noon): From after mid-day until mid-afternoon.
  3. Asr (Afternoon): Before the sun begins to set.
  4. Maghreb (Sunset): After sunset until twilight.
  5. Isha (Night): From twilight until the break of dawn.

Jum’a (Friday) Prayer: The prayer performed on Fridays is at the time of Dhuhr (noon) prayer. The prayer is performed in a congregation.